Back to community news

Let's Discuss...ongoing projects and hobbies

No Image Description
Post body
Do you have a hobby that you love? Does it help you relieve stress and help you focus on something other than your cancer treatment? Are you a painter,crocheter,bowler,wood worker, runner, cyclist? Are you starting a new project with the start of the new year?




Comments

I seem to have been having trouble getting back at things. I used to be a freelance artist in addition to my other careers, and always hoped for the time to work on my own projects. Now I have the time but a lot of inertia. I am not inspired to paint and draw anymore and if I push myself it often doesn't turn out causing even further discouragement. I took a couple of courses in mediums that I hadn't tried before , in hopes of becoming more inspired, however the reason I hadn't tried these mediums before was mostly due to set up costs, so have not yet been able to explore. I wish I could feel more inspired and desire to work on things . I keep saying to myself that I'm waiting for spring, but really I'm waiting for inspiration and motivation. Any suggestions to get past my mental wall.
  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 10:21 AM EST
We have decided to sell our house and downsize. That is definitely giving me something to do and look forward to. Maybe a life change is what you need. I know it sounds drastic but it may be what you need. But I agree with Lacey. You may still be healing emotionally and need to give yourself some more time.
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 11:17 AM EST
I don't know. It would be nothing short of a miracle to be finished treatment for good, but I have been on a very good ride since last March.
  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 11:58 AM EST
Makes sense Addie, to have difficulty looking forward after all you have been through. Are you finished treatment?

  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 11:17 AM EST
I don't know, I would so like to be inspired again, but it's just not there. I was a professional cook as well for 25 years, and when I need to do something or be creative I generally find something to cook. It doesn't excite me so much as keeps me pleasantly occupied. (My freezer is filling up with successful and failed attempts that we don't really need., lol) I guess I just want to feel excited about something again, and seem to have lost the ability to look forward to anything or become engrossed in anything.
  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 10:52 AM EST
Aww Addie...Did you have any other points in your life where you lost inspiration? Is it possible that you are still recovering emotionally and physically and need some more time? This is a good discussion we should start under life after cancer....
  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 10:44 AM EST
I don't know. I did all kinds of commissions from custom fine art paintings, to portraits to illustrations, in virtually all media, signage, watercolour, oil , murals,and dry media. My subjects were as varied. mostly animals, people, and scenes. It just all seems mechanical anymore .
  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 10:37 AM EST
Hey Addie, what type of subjects did you have before? Is it possible that you're interested in new subjects and themes since your cancer experience?
  • Posted Thu 12 Jan 2017 10:27 AM EST
My latest hobby is weaving. I was given a loom as a Christmas present in 2015, so I've been practicing with that off and on. I've made many many sets of placemats to practice getting my tension right, so almost everyone got placemats for a present this past Christmas...haha! Right now I'm attempting to weave a big bag to put my knitting in (another hobby of mine). I think I just have a strange yarn addiction. I can't resist buying yarn if I see a good deal. I figure I'll make something out of it all one day! :-)

Last year, I also had a crack at oil painting which was fun, so I may have another go at that one day soon. It's a lot of fun.

I guess that's about it, other than cooking. I really enjoy cooking, especially to have people over and cook a nice meal for them; although I don't do that much these days. In my head, I would love to entertain more, but I don't have as much energy as I used to.
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 04:15 PM EST
Yes, a local lady that has a yarn shop does all sorts of stuff, and I thought one day the weaving would be fun to try, so my Mom surprised me with a little loom called a rigid heddle loom. It's a smaller one that perches on a table, rather than one of those great big floor models - those things scare me...haha! I'd need a lot more practice before I'd even attempt using one of those beasts! ;-)
  • Posted Mon 16 Jan 2017 08:07 AM EST
Ooh, weaving sounds cool. I assume you had wanted to try it and someone didn't just randomly decide to give you a loom ;)
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 12:48 PM EST
I love to bake!! It's not at all good for my waist line but it's my creative outlet. I also love love love cake decorating! My kids plan their birthdays around what cake Mom will make this year. Last year was a wash out as chemo fell during two of their birthdays. I expect the cakes to be over the top this year. LOL
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 11:12 AM EST
Hi Dogswalker!!
Glad to hear that you love to bake also and that you are getting back into it. I got a little too into it at Christmas time and baked like 14 different cookies/squares etc. I use these as gifts for our friends so they didn't go to waste but it was a lot more than I have ever done!!
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 03:02 PM EST
I love to bake too. I'm very slowly getting back into it. I recently made empire cookies and cannoli. Both of those I had never made before. Turned out really well.
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 11:13 AM EST
Thank your Lady C!! My Mom took a cake decorating course and when I got older I just took all her stuff. LOL. I prefer to have clients who give me an idea and then let me run with it then the ones who micro manage and nit pick. My sister in laws are like that. I hate doing cakes for them. LOL
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 07:37 PM EST
Your cakes are amazing! I've had a go at decorating about 3 cakes, and it took a lot of work and patience - it was fun though. Really beautiful! :-)
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 04:20 PM EST
No problem
click My home-My content-Upload photos
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 11:58 AM EST
Okay!! LOL Help - have no clue how to do that!! LOL
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 11:54 AM EST
I wanna see pics of these cakes :)
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 11:50 AM EST
I am getting back to scrapbooking - something I put on hold for a while. I find this really takes my mind of things. I love to read but during radiation I seemed to lose interest and my concentration wasn't so great, but hope to get back to it.
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 08:46 AM EST
I used to scrapbook also. I had tons of stuff, but when my hobby interest switched, which it always seems to, I got rid of everything.

I am a reader and I find I just had to switch to lighter reading to accommodate trouble with concentration.
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 12:50 PM EST
I love to read too, but found I had no desire for it at all during any of my treatments. I am looking forward to getting back to it. We are currently renovating our house to put it up for sale so that will now put a dent in my reading time.
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 11:11 AM EST
I have a ton of scrap booking supplies...for some day!
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 09:17 AM EST
I used to be a runner, slowly getting back to a bit of that (like the tortoise not the hare!). Would love to cycle again but given my balance issues, not sure that will ever happen. I can hope so. My favourite stress reliever is taking my very energetic little pup for walks pretty well every night. It's 30-45 minutes of just thinking and getting some fresh air. I think it's definitely one of the highlights of my day. Another hobby I have (so my wife says) is reading the newspaper and "reacting" to the news I read - usually in disbelief hahah. Again it takes my mind off of other things so I guess that's a positive!
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 08:20 AM EST
Hi - my balance issues are purely from my tumor - it conveniently located itself on my cerebellum and one of the symptoms "vertigo like" . However I hope it's something that will improve with time and effort, I'd already say I'm better but simple things like walking and turning my head sideways (while walking) now take some focus not to stagger either way. For what it's worth I'll take the trade off though !!
  • Posted Tue 17 Jan 2017 05:24 PM EST
I also love biking and I am wondering if your balance issues have anything to do with the cancer or treatment? Or is it something else. I can understand your wife totally. My husband reads the paper inside out and I can't figure out why since it gets him so riled up.
  • Posted Tue 17 Jan 2017 01:35 PM EST
Walking with you energetic pup sounds lovely. My pup is pretty old and partially blind, and I hate the cold, so we don't get out much. I'm looking at getting a treadmill for some warm, indoor activity ;)
  • Posted Sat 14 Jan 2017 12:53 PM EST
I wish I could walk my dog, but unfortunately he's 100lbs and thinks he can attack every vehicle that passes! If he gets his mind set on 'taking down' a vehicle, not even Hercules could stop him...haha! He is one strong dog. I keep hoping he'll grow out of it, but until then, Waldo and I spend our time in the field playing catch with sticks.
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 04:27 PM EST
LOL! 'reacting to the news'
  • Posted Wed 11 Jan 2017 09:17 AM EST

Log in or Register to post a comment.