+ Reply
Mum is Mean!
FunnyBunny
24 Posts
Anyone have experience with incredible anger in dying? My mum is palliative. We were told 3-6months last October. Luckily Mum is still with us. She works full time at home from her computer but is now bedridden (new in the last week; previously spent most of her time in a lazy boy in the living room). She has been increasingly mean and angry when she does interact with anyone. Of course my Dad is taking the brunt of it daily. She’s 55. She doesn’t want to die. She refuses counselling. She won’t take holidays from work to spend time with anyone & she refuses to stop treatment or give up the fight yet she loses her absolute mind when she needs another blood transfusion or procedure or something that can’t be managed at home. Then she yells at nurses who call her and cry later that no one cares about her. I live a province away & have been begging to go visit (I’m a paramedic & fully vaccinated) but she tells me no because she works full time.
is this normal? She won’t even entertain the idea of speaking to someone about any of this. Is this potentially brain Mets? Anyone have experience or advice? The family & I are at a loss.
9 Replies
ACH2015
2007 Posts
FunnyBunny

My Aunt basically willed herself to death. She had lost the husband she knew to strokes that left him a very different man mentally. Her health had been declining for years, and her mobility was becoming limited and more painful. When my uncle became more challenged he could not drive, and that meant my aunt was more dependent on others to get about as she was a non driver. My aunt was given anti depressants, but she eventually refused to take them, see any doctors or do anything to help herself. She became abusive to my mother and father and anyone else that didn't do as she expected. I did not recognize her, as her appearance physically had dramatically shifted, and her attitude was 100% negative.