+ Reply
I Beat Cancer; Now What?!
AniD
46 Posts

So after 2 years of battling breast cancer, originally diagnosed May 2019 and had a recurrence September 2020, and had a recent scare again September 2021, I am officially cancer FREE! I am currently doing physio and counselling to help with the transition back to my ”new normal”. It’s helping. I did recently find out that one of my friends who also had breast cancer, has also had a recurrence. She is stage 4 and it’s metastasized to her bones. I feel like everyone around me has had or died from cancer over the last couple of years. My dad died in 2017 (stage 4 lung cancer), my favourite aunt died the same month I was diagnosed (May 2019), my step-father died of pancreatic cancer in 2018, and I’ve been battling this nonsense for the last 2 years of my life. It’s been a crappy couple of years. As hard as I try to get past and get over all of this “cancer crap” it keeps creeping back into my life one way or another. It’s frustrating. It’s scary. I want to “close this chapter” of my life. I want my fresh start that I feel I have earned. I have survivors guilt. I’m trying to get over this, as I know this is self-inflicted and has nothing to do with those I’ve lost or am losing. It’s just a big messy hard hand I’ve been dealt that I am trying to deal with. It‘s a lot of trauma. I’m trying to be compassionate with myself, but it isn’t easy. I’m not patient. I just want to put it all behind me. I don’t want to live in fear anymore of cancer recurrences. I don’t want to worry about others getting sick in my life anymore. I want some time where someone I love or myself isn’t sick. Is that asking too much? I feel like the last few years have been a constant roller coaster. A lot of ups and downs and with the pandemic thrown in it hasn’t been easy for a lot of people. I am learning that nothing will ever be the same again. I know that things are going to be different for me. I’ve accepted that. But I want to feel joyful again. I