+ Reply
Let's Discuss...sun safety after cancer
686daaffd1ee089683b6a143356b1bb0-huge-ju

Summer has arrived and the weather is warming up. It’s natural to want to get outside and enjoy the sunshine.

Have your sun safety practices changed since being diagnosed with cancer?

What precautions do you take?

38 Replies
Runner Girl
2730 Posts

I have never used sunscreen before. Never had to. Was fortunate that I don't burn, just turn a nice shade of brown. Now that I've had radiation I will take steps to protect the area, using sunscreen.

Does anyone have any experience to share about how you skin reacted to being exposed to the sun after having radiation?

Runner Girl

Brighty
8442 Posts
I tried to post before but it ended up in cyber space. I always use a daily face cream that has SPF. No matter what season it is, I use it all year. If I spend more time in the sun I use a higher SPF sunscreen. I generally tend to stay out of the sun because I have sensitive skin and burn to a crisp with 5 minutes.
DMT
186 Posts

I avoid the sun as much as possible. When I am out in the sun I wear omni shield clothing from Columbia and a big brimmed hat with SPF 60 protection. Everyone thinks I would be hot but I find it cooler than being exposed to the sun.

JustJan
1543 Posts
I certainly take more precautions than I used to. Like Runner Girl‍, I usually wasn’t one to burn but the PARP inhibitor I am on has made me more sun sensitive and I burn quite easily. I wear sunscreen with spf 30, use a moisturizer with spf 30 on my face and as my lips were getting sunburned I now use a lip balm with spf 30 as well. I also generally wear a hat if I’m going to be direct sun for any period of time.