Love Your Life to Death....and other great resources

Love Your Life to Death....and other great resources

Posted by Kims1961 on Feb 19, 2019 4:53 pm

Hello....I wasn't sure where to best post some of these recent resources I came across as they really  could apply to any of the discussion forums, but thought I'd start here with this wonderful group.

Ironically - prior to my breast cancer diagnosis in 2017 - I was looking into Palliative Care Courses and courses of death and dying ( I am a social worker). I knew in my own life and professionally the impact of grief and as a society we still struggle to talk about death / the process of dying and grieving.  Then....I am diagnosed with cancer and go through the myriad of emotions, worries, sleepless nights etc. I thought my husband and I had had "the talk" about our wishes - but realized somehow we had missed this.  It's a difficult conversation but so important and now with cancer, no one wants to talk to me about death and dying.  Rather -  I get the positive messages - like you'll recover and live a long life etc etc...  Even harder now to bring it up to my husband - so he finally agreed that we both - including him - need to prepare what our wishes are for end of life. We agreed we would each do our own and then share them when it was a "good" time to have this talk.  As I started to prepare - I realized there is ALOT to consider. So here are some resources I found that I hope others will find useful too....

1. Book - Love Your Life to Death.  Written by an oncology and hospice nurse.  Her focus is on talking about grief and advance care planning. 
 " ​When we learn to talk about and plan for grief, something amazing happens. We live more fully and we suffer less at the end of our life. Our loved ones and workplaces suffer less and are able to move through their grief."
https://www.loveyourlifetodeath.com