+ Reply
Let's discuss...self compassion
61c2fa94c95ca01f963d8f92681a958e-huge-ju

Self-compassion is when we give ourselves the same kindness and care we'd give to a good friend. We show them respect and support when they’re feeling down. We comfort them if/when they’re going through hard times.

• What was your experience with self-compassion when you were diagnosed with cancer/ when your loved one was diagnosed?
  • Have you shown yourself self-compassion lately? Let us know how so!

18 Replies
Heart
2 Posts

I probably have not and I know it's hypocritical of me. I just wish I had noticed the lump sooner or that someone would have told me there was pain before, perhaps the 3 week delay could have prevented it from being non-resectable. I am a health care professional, so I just feel I should have done better. I know exactly what I would say to a friend, it's just I don't know, I feel I should have done better.

CandiceRG
47 Posts

This is tough. It is very easy to put myself in a role where I end up doing to much. I could handle it before but not now. I am gradually accepting that I absolutely have to treat myself with gentleness.

OreTimber
52 Posts

HPV throat cancer in 2018, 7 weeks of radiation and 4 years later I am free of cancer. This year I ruptured a L-5 disc and have severe foot drop. My life is compromised once again. If there is one thing I've learned it's the body is not designed to last forever. Our mind suppresses that reality. I have been trying to embrace that new reality and it does take self compassion to accept the new normal.

Cea
21 Posts