How to interact with us cancer slayers.

How to interact with us cancer slayers.

Posted by ZeroGravity60 on Mar 13, 2019 7:12 am

About a week ago I came across someone who asked how should one treat a cancer patient? What to say and how to say it. I had read a few suggestions on the net and had a few ideas of my own so being an eternal writer I sat down to my computer and put my own list together. Now I can't speak for anyone but myself, but give it a read. Perhaps you may take issue with some of what I say, or maybe you'll want to add to the list. If you healthy people want to know what we cancer slayers are looking for, give this whole thread a serious read. Peace.

[Response to question on seeking advice for how to interact with cancer patients.]

[ ] You be you and I'll be me. Cancer is such a roller coaster that any one way of action or reaction by others will never satisfy in all situations. What works today may well be seen as insensitive tomorrow simply because the pain, sickness and fear has returned. But with that said there are still a few ways you can be more sensitive to cancer slayers.

[ ] An offer of specific help. In crisis situations people can be more relaxed if they know there needs are being met. Everything from hospital visits to pet adoption could be on our minds. 

[ ] I'm sorry you're ill. Please, leave it at that. Thank you for your sympathy but when the time comes, put it all in the book at the back of the hall. Don't go on about how unfair my disease is. That could be considered insensitive by me, but you're not the one with the stomach upset and splitting headache.