+ Reply
Morphine.. what to expect when my mom starts to use it??
Shinny75
6 Posts

Hey there….

My mom has been using tylenol extra strength for pain management..
Recently she has said that the tylenol is not working like it used to.
I suggested to start using the morphine that was prescribed to her.

And she has been soooooooo resistant to taking it..
She doesn't want to get addicted and she doesn't want to sleep all day because of it.

I've told her to maybe just start off with a ¼ of a tablet and see how that works.

I was wondering how does morphine make you feel with your pain and the sleepiness and maybe wooziness… I've never used it before myself so I can't relate to how it makes my mom feel.

13 Replies
ACH2015
2147 Posts

Hi @Shinny75 I have been on several pain meds including morphine. The key is to take the meds before the pain reaches a 10 out of 10 - or worse. My homecare nurse told me to take the meds as prescribed at the lowest dose possible. If you get into a rhythm the pain is managed well, and you won't feel disoriented, sleepy etc.. If you are taking too much, it is as bad as not taking enough. Staving off pain means paying attention to signs of oncoming pain. If it's already bad, its too late and larg doses of meds won't really help. Using the lowest dose is the best way to start. Dulling the pain to a point where you can function normally is the best way to do so. Driving, or using machinery is best not done until you get a feel for the drugs.

this link https://www.drugs.com/morphine.html talks about uses, precautions and possible side effects. Also…. its a good idea to talk to the doctor that is providing the R/X to look at your mom's situation and see if she may be predisposed to any side effects.

You won't get hooked on any medication by taking it at the lowest dose and working up as and when needed.

Hope this helps.

Keep well.

ACH2015

Boby1511
595 Posts

@Shinny75

hi there. Sorry to meet you here.