+ Reply
Having a line put in for, CT scans
elle29
669 Posts

5 times πŸ’₯πŸ’‰πŸ’‰πŸ’‰πŸ’‰πŸ’‰πŸ’₯πŸ™†πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€·β€β™€οΈπŸ˜ΏI am not whining nor complaining but there is a problem .
Today I was a human PINCUSHION the tech and 2 nurses had multiple tries for a needle to be pushed further in my veins . They said but it did not want to go further though trying carefully . Each time it recjected the IV needle .

This is a continual problem for moi , for them to add ported for CT fluid , to be put in . My veins kept rejecting this and it hurt and burned as they tried to push it further in .The tech said it happens matter of factly when I left .
I yelped like a wounded pup !
Actually 4 on my arm and a 5th needle with port line attached on my wrist . It hurt so much bc the veins were not straight they said . I need a HUG . Glad my daughter drove me especially afterwards .

6 Replies
Boby1511
595 Posts

@elle29

i feel for you. I’ve had the multiple IV attempts. Hurts.

Hope your recovering. Hugs.

elle29
669 Posts

And I do not want to say anything to the GPO or they may stop all together .

supersu
498 Posts

@elle29

ouch! I feel your pain….every time I need an IV I have multiple pokes also.
ugh
it is no fun at all.

you must have β€˜valve'y veins'. it sounds like they get it in, but cannot advance the catheter. I think sometimes our veins just say: β€˜NO MORE’. ha ha ha

good for you for being a trooper…it doesn't happen too often, but if venous access cannot be accessed tests could be cancelled, so I get that you are fearful of saying too much to the provider. I don't know that you can have a permanent line put in for CT scans - the contrast solution may not be a good match. hopefully you don't need further IVs for a while!

hang in there girl!
the info they get from the procedures is the important stuff for you. crossing my fingers that everything comes up roses! 🌹

hugs friend πŸ€—
su

#toughIVstart #CTscanwithcontrast

Eddie
38 Posts