+ Reply
Capcetabine side effects
Mamabear41
44 Posts
Hi there, so I’m on cycle One of 5 cycles of capox. I started last Thursday and anytime I eat now an hour later I’m in a lot of pain; doesn’t matter what I eat, it’s so bad at times that I now only eat when I have to take my medication other than that I don’t eat which is frustrating. Anyone have any tips or idea s on what to do , thanks in advance
5 Replies
supersu
263 Posts

@Mamabear41

oh mamabear! that sounds awful!!
sorry you are struggling with this drug.

I cannot offer any insight, but I will tag this post with the #capcetabine hashtag, in hopes that others who have personal experience might see it.

have you reached out to your team? perhaps there is some type of med, (I'm thinking panteloc or something like that), that could sooth the digestive tract? I dunno….I'm no doctor, but I do know that there are pharmacological miracles for lots of the side effects of our cancer treatments.

I hope you get some relief….
I consider eating good food one of my biggest pleasures in life….I hope you can get some resolution with this side effect soon.

cheers/hugs
su

#pharmacology #sideeffects

Rochelle
6 Posts
Mamabear41
Sorry to hear you are having issues with food. Nutrition is key to giving us strength to get through these treatments.
I am just starting cycle 6 of 8 of Xeloda (Capcetabine) for TNBC. I've had a rough time with hand/foot syndrome and just had my dose reduced for the 4th time. I would recommend calling your chemo clinic for advice on how to proceed. I've found they had good advice and would also send a note to my oncologist.
Good luck!

Sorry to hear of your food/eating issues @Mamabear41 . I'm not familiar with the conncection of that drug and eating issues. I'm not sure if it will give you the answers you seek, but CCS does have a booklet called Eating well when you have cancer.