Dietary supplements, Natural remedies versus traditional treatments and Information overl...

Re: Dietary supplements, Natural remedies versus traditional treatments and Information overload.

Posted by Essjay on Jan 5, 2020 6:42 pm

Hi Dot75‍ I’m sorry about your husbands diagnosis. I think your questions are great ones for the oncologist tomorrow, they should be able to refer you to your centres dietician for some expert advice. We have to be honest about supplements when going through treatment - there are some contraindications.

well done on your 65lb weight loss by the way - totally awesome. No wonder you knee feels better :)
Triple Negative Breast Cancer survivor since July 2018

Re: Dietary supplements, Natural remedies versus traditional treatments and Information overload.

Posted by Brighty on Jan 5, 2020 6:44 pm

Hi Dot75‍  although I'm no expert  I have read posts on here about  certain vitamins counteracting the effects of the chemo.    I would say to wait to talk to the doctor before giving him  vitamins or suppliments .   
​​​​​
Help is out there. All you have to do is reach out.

Posted by Buffythevampire on Jan 5, 2020 8:03 pm

Dot75‍ I also would agree that you should wait to talk to the Oncologist before giving any supplements/vitamins. During my chemo, my red and white blood cells were low and I looked online for foods that might raise the levels up. It did raise the levels up for me slightly (one time at least). Iron rich foods are liver (yuck!) or beef and I believe spinach. I remember my Oncologist saying I wasn't allowed to take a probiotic but I was allowed to eat probiotic yogurt (Activia)

Posted by Dot75 on Jan 5, 2020 9:09 pm