+ Reply
New rare breast cancer diagnosis
Coco7
9 Posts

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting as I only found out two days ago that I have a rare type of breast cancer called solid papillary carcinoma. I’m still in a little bit of shock as I was not expecting to get diagnosed with cancer since my August biopsy showed a benign tumor. I had a lumpectomy in December and surgeon thought everything went well and she got it all but now we have this diagnosis and I still don’t know if it’s invasive or not. We are awaiting one further pathologists report to confirm that it is hopefully in situ but some cancer was still found in the margins which concerns me. It’s all the waiting that I am finding very difficult as it’s been a long five months of mammograms, ultrasounds, biopsies and a lumpectomy, waiting for pathology reports, etc. I know everyone on here can relate so I’m hoping that there might be someone that has heard of this type of breast cancer? it’s so rare it affects less than 1% of the population. Also any words of wisdom while I am awaiting further treatment options. At this point it looks like there will be further surgery after an MRI which of course I’m still waiting to go for and since the cancer is in my nipple, I will be losing that too. Looks like down the road I will need some tattooing. So if anyone has any information on anything they’ve gone through similar to this, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for any support or encouragement as I start on my journey.

9 Replies
Runner Girl
2449 Posts

@Coco7

Welcome, I am sorry for this turn of events. I did a search of the site and did not find anyone with this type of rare breast cancer. A quick search yielded the following information: