+ Reply
Both Parents Recently Diagnosed
Lane
3 Posts
Hi, I’m new to all of this and I would like to introduce myself. My dad was recently diagnosed with malignant melanoma. When he was six days post-op, my mom was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. It feels like too much, and we are devastated.
9 Replies
S2020
257 Posts
Hi Lane,

That’s a lot for you and your parents to be going through. I am sorry to read that they have been diagnosed with cancer.

There are two forums at this website that may be helpful.

Cancer & The Family
https://cancerconnection.ca/discussions/viewcategory/81

Caring For Someone With Cancer
https://cancerconnection.ca/discussions/viewcategory/35

The Cancer Information Helpline may be able to direct you to resources in your community: 1-888-939-3333

Wellspring has many online programs for families and patients: https://wellspring.ca/online-programs/programs/all-programs/

There is also a 24/7 crisis line, if there are times when it feels like too much: 1-833-456-4566

What are the next steps for your mother and father? In addition to taking care of them, be sure to take time for yourself. Wishing you and them the best possible outcomes. We are here for you!
Whitelilies
1073 Posts

@Lane Hello and welcome to our caring community….I am so sorry to hear of the diagnosis, of both your parents……Another member provided links for you; they will be a great resource….

I wanted to say welcome…..we are here for you…..

My father had colon cancer…..I am on the same journey…..every which way we look; it is not easy.

Keep sharing,

Whitelilies

Lane
3 Posts
Thank you for the kind response as well as the links. I’ll be sure to check them out.

Everything is still very new and overwhelming, and we’re trying to remember to take one step at a time, and not worry in advance about things that may or may not happen.