Stage 4a non small lung cancer

Stage 4a non small lung cancer

Posted by Cat364 on Nov 14, 2020 10:18 am

Hi,
My name is Cathy and I was just diagnosed with Stage 4a non small lung cancer.  I am extremely terrified and I would really like to talk to someone who has been through this.  I have been coughing for a few months and my ribs and back are sore and it makes me worried that this is also cancer.  I am axious for the Pet scan which is still not scheduled to see if there is any other cancer in my body.  My anxiety is extremely high.  Is there anyone who would be available to chat.

Thank you

Re: Stage 4a non small lung cancer

Posted by Brighty on Nov 14, 2020 11:00 am

Welcome Cat364‍   .  I'm sorry you find your self here and terrified.   You don't have to be alone.    If you go under 'forums ' and 'cancer types' there are lung cancer discussions.   You can join in and chat with others.     I want you to meet a very special  guy who has stage 4 lung cancer .  WestCoastSailor‍  is inspiring , and simply  amazing . He will chat with you about his experiences and what he does to cope.    I know you will feel better after connecting with him.   This I promise.      
Help is out there. All you have to do is reach out.

Posted by WestCoastSailor on Nov 14, 2020 3:30 pm

Cat364‍ 

That post brought a flood of memories back. I'm two and a half years post diagnosis. And while my staging was slightly less advanced than yours at 3C I remember that desire for someone just to tell me what was going to happen. The oncologists can only tell you so much. And I wanted someone who had been there.

The first thing I would say is stay away from doctor Google. Unreliable, filled with quacks and horror stories, just not the best resource for someone coming to grips with stuff.  Here is the best two resources that I know of for good clear information. Your oncologist may have already given them to you. But maybe not.