Cancer is my teacher.

Cancer is my teacher.

Posted by ZeroGravity60 on Mar 12, 2019 5:50 am

Hello to all those in my new found community. Although the reason for being here sucks, I thank the Canadian Cancer Society for making this service available.

I have colon cancer that has spread to my kidneys. I was told the growth in my colon could burst at any time spreading bacteria in my body and killing me I guess almost instantly. A potential blessing in disguise. I declined medical treatment.

Can I say that here? I mean that can be a hot button topic for so many. But honestly I don't want to be on this site if I have to lie about me. I have nothing against chemo, it's just not for me. Some or most would say I'm taking a stupid risk. Perhaps, but it's still my stupid risk to take.

My expiration date, anywhere from July 2019 to August 2023. The medical community has essentially told me I will not see Christmas day 2023. I beg to differ. I'm a bit of a writer and in the three moths since I was diagnosed, I've turned to writing to help me deal with my cancer. I wrote this a few days ago as a teaching for myself but written for an audience. It's the teacher in me.🙄

Cancer is a wake up call. I believe the lessons of one's cancer can hold the cure to one's disease. I learned this particular lesson just the other day.

"Those who say only sunshine can bring happiness, have never danced in the rain."
[Author Unknown]

What is it about saying goodbye that knocks us down to our very core. The main reason I rarely say hello is because I know I'll eventually have to say goodbye and I can't handle that. I'd rather be alone then experience the pain of eventual loss. I obviously have some deep psychological blocks that make me think and react this way.