First time ever sick in 70 years

First time ever sick in 70 years

Posted by Kayak1 on Nov 21, 2019 6:30 am

Hi Everyone. This is my first time going through any type of treatment so for that l am truly great full. Oct1st this year l was diagnosed with invasive duct carcinoma of right breast and had a mastectomy and  AND. It is now Nov21st and l am going today for my first chemo treatment. I have been doing great up till now so wish me luck that the chemo doesn’t change my life to much. Thanks

Re: First time ever sick in 70 years

Posted by Wendy Tea on Nov 21, 2019 12:03 pm

Kayak1‍ , welcome and thanks for sharing. I too hit 70 and my feet were taken out from under me by a cancer diagnosis and then a mastectomy. I was lucky and avoided chemo and radiation but had other complications. There are some wonderful ladies here who have gone through the full round of treatment and done really well. I am sure there is some wonderful advice that they will be happy to share. The main one is to drink lots of water. Try to stay active if you can. Rest and listen to your body.

I want to start Kayaking this summer. I think lessons will be in order!

Wishing you well on this next stage of life. I am happily on the same path of enjoying each and every day.
Wendy Tea
Healing takes time and opportunity. Wendy Tea

Posted by Kayak1 on Nov 21, 2019 3:45 pm

Well l had my first round of treatment and it went really well. The nurses and volunteers were great. Had some trouble putting in IV but they were able to find a vein. They are going to arrange a piccline to be put in for next 3 treatments.
l guess l will know better in a few days how l will feel. In the mean time l will play my drums and play Pickleball when l can

Posted by Marsh on Nov 22, 2019 6:48 am