The Navigation Bar
This can be found in the upper right-hand corner of your browser. It will look something like this:
From left to right you will find:
- your profile picture and username: by clicking on either you can view your profile
- the add-friend button: this button will bring you to your friends list where you can edit or remove friends
- your inbox: view your private messages and notifications here!
- group invitations: this button will take you to the list of groups you can join
- settings: where you can edit your profile, privacy, notification and subscription settings
- log out function
The Dashboard Dropdown
The links are similar to the navigation bar, but have a few additional options. This drop-down can be found above the header on the left-hand side of your browser.
Editing Your Settings
We're going to jump right into the settings function; this function allows you to change your login credentials and control how many notifications or emails you receive and the choose what content you want to be notified on. Click on the wrench located on your navigation bar
The account tab allows you to change your screen name, email, password and signature if needed. Next let's move on to edit the privacy settings by clicking on privacy (see arrow below).
The privacy tab allows you to dictate what parts of your profile can be viewed by other members. After you've chosen your privacy settings, click the yellow 'save changes' button and then click the next link, notifications.
The notifications tab allows you to select what sort of emails you want to receive. After you've chosen, click the yellow 'save changes' button and then click the next link, subscriptions.
The subscription tab will allow you to choose the frequency in which you receive email notifications. At the top is discussions, followed by member journals, news, groups and finally categories.
Viewing and Editing Your Profile
View Your Profile
From the navigation bar, click on either your profile picture or username or use the dashboard drop-down menu and click 'view profile' It will look something like this:
While viewing your profile you can do many things, starting on the left-hand column top to bottom:
- View or change your profile picture
- User Actions: Edit profile, view all photos, and bookmark the page
- Edit About Me / Cancer Information
- Edit Details / Other Information
- Your activity, where you've posted or any changes made to your profile
- Your journal if you have created one, if not learn more here.
- Your friends
Click on the 'edit profile' located under user actions. You should now see this:
- Contact information is where you can edit information about where you reside.
- Cancer information is where you can write a little bit about yourself, identify how you relate to cancer, and what province you reside in
- Other information is where can opt into emails from the cancer society, and other statistical information.
To view your content (ie. photos and videos you have uploaded) use the dashboard drop-down box and click 'my content'. Here you can view, add or edit your content.
The inbox is where you will find your notifications and private messages. You can read, reply, archive and delete these messages by clicking on the message itself or using the checkbox beside each message and using the 'delete selected' or 'archive selected' buttons.
To view your friends, used the dashboard drop-down menu and click 'my friends'. This page will allow you to view your friends, send a message or remove someone from your friends list.
Once you've found someone you want to add, click on their profile. On their page there will be a 'user actions' area just like when you viewed your own profile. The last action is the add as a friend function, click this link and it will send a friend request to the person.
Click on the group icon on your navigation bar to view the list of groups that are available to join. Some are private, for example:
- Community Mentors is limited to those that are mentors on the website and requires an invitation
- Ladies Retreat is for women only
- The Man Cave is for men only
- Young Adults is for those between the ages of 18 and 35.
Click the yellow 'join group' button to become a member!
Invite Your Friends
Think someone else can benefit from CancerConnection? Invite them by using the dashboard drop-down box and clicking 'invite'. Add the person's email and edit the message (there is a standard one automatically entered) and click 'send invitation'!