+ Reply
Losing my best friend
LBeatty
1 Posts

Hi everyone - it's my first time contributing here. My best friend (aged 33) was diagnosed with severe/progressive bile duct cancer last year. Just before christmas she developed ‘ecites’, a swelling of the belly with fluid, and has now officially entered the final stage of her cancer. Her oncologist officially told her yesterday that she is no longer responding to any treatment, and they are stopping everything. But he seem to be beating around the bush and not letting her know approximately how much time she has left. This is so frustrating for us all, this is her life - shouldn't she get to plan out the time she has in the way she wants to? And what about her friends and family across the country who would have to book time to come and see her?

On another note, does anyone here have any experience approaching someone close to them in a sensitive way about hiring a death doula to aid in the dying process? Very very curious about this.

Thanks so much for listening. xoxo💛

6 Replies
ACH2015
2554 Posts

@LBeatty

What a very good friend you are for assisting your friend at this difficult time. I'd like to share a resource from the Canadian Cancer Society that deals with all facets of Advanced Cancer including talking about death: https://cdn.cancer.ca/-/media/files/cancer-information/resources/publications/advanced-cancer/32043-advanced-cancer-en.pdf?rev=bdce0550855848aaa8179f141d6d4366&hash=B9CDEA5F7AB7C14A5E7641D6F383BC2B&_gl=1*18pmqv8*_ga*MjEwODA2OTY5Ni4xNjczMDAxOTYy*_ga_23YMKBE2C3*MTY3MzAyNDcxMi4zLjEuMTY3MzAyNDc4Mi41NS4wLjA.

Perhaps this resource is something that you could share and look over with your friend as a means of breaking the ice as to your friends thoughts and wishes at this time.