+ Reply
Telling friends about being a caregiver
LVL999
11 Posts
I’ve been caring for my dad for 4 months now. He was diagnosed stage 4 stomach cancer and is currently going through chemo every 2 weeks.

since his diagnosis, I’ve been spending most of my time with family. the first couple months, I declined all invites from friends, using Covid as an excuse.

But dad felt bad that I wasn’t going out, so I started seeing people in small groups. When Covid was worse, my friends were also taking caution, so I felt safer meeting them. But now that all regulations have been lifted, friends are gathering in bigger groups and no masks.

I’m conflicted now. I want to go out and meet my big group of friends, share meals, and do activities together, but at the same time I feel like I shouldn’t because I don’t want to be bringing sickness to the home.

I haven’t told anyone that I am now living with an immunocompromised person. I’m starting to feel a need to tell my friends because I can’t always make excuses to decline their invites.

how are you guys handling your social life as a caregiver?
7 Replies
Brighty
8591 Posts