+ Reply
New to this
Zhara8
3 Posts

Hi, I am new to this and I am looking for others that may be going through cancer with a loved one. I have been in a relationship with my man for 4 years and have recently found out he has cancer. We are about to find out what treatments he will be doing. I am having a hard time wrapping my head around it and feel like I can not speak to him about this. I am wondering what other peoples do in these situations. any help, any answer would be appreciated.
Thank you

12 Replies
Brighty
7483 Posts

Hi @Zhara8 I feel for you. I'm so sorry. II was also with my fiance for 4 years. He was diagnosed with esophageal cancer and it rocked both our worlds. Give him a huge hug and tell him you will always be there for him and when he is ready to talk about it,you are here. I would say to not pressure him to talk about if he doesn't feel up to it…he may need time to absorb it still. Find someone like a family member wwho you feel comfortable telling who can be your support too. Are you comfortable telling us what type of cancer it is? II'm here if you want to talk. MMy phone is being problomatic but I'm going to log on to tbe computer later so I hope to be able to chat with you more later.

Whitelilies
1475 Posts

@Zhara8 Hello and welcome from AB! Please know you have found a group of folks…eager to listen and share experiences…..I am sorry to hear about your friend/boyfriend's diagnosis…..It is wonderful, you have reached out……on how best to support him, through his treatments and more. I am on the colo-rectal journey too……I understand…..

Please know…..he may be scared….worried……keep it all inside….and more…….follow his lead……try not to read TOO much on google……if you know what treatments will begin…we can support you/him for that….same with what surgery? Lots of folks here, with experiences to share…..