Can my father (who has lymphocytic leukemia) qualify for disability?

Can my father (who has lymphocytic leukemia) qualify for disability?

Posted by cpagravel on Jan 30, 2019 9:09 pm

My father has lymphocytic leukemia and he's been told by Revenue Canada that he does qualify for disability. Has anyone had experience with this? I haven't found the relevant information saying that he wouldn't be considered for disability. Any information is really appreciated.

Re: Can my father (who has lymphocytic leukemia) qualify for disability?

Posted by cpagravel on Jan 31, 2019 7:59 am

I made a mistake in my original post. I did it in a hurry. My father has been told that he "does not" qualify for disability. He's retired and I was hoping that he would qualify since he's unable to work with the effects of the chemo sessions.

Posted by Cynthia Mac on Jan 31, 2019 8:37 am

Hi, cpagravel‍ , I have no experience with applying for disability, but I have heard that most applications are denied on their “first pass.”  That being said, you do say in your post that your father is retired. If he is retired and already receiving a pension, he might not qualify.

You might try contacting his local welfare/ social services office to see if he qualifies for a provincial disability (In Ontario it is ODSP, the Ontario Disability Support Program), and whether they feel he should re-apply for CPP disability. Another resource would be to talk to a lawyer who specializes in advocating for persons with disabilities.

Posted by Aly on Jan 31, 2019 8:06 pm

Hi cpagravel‍ , unfortunately I do not have much experience in regarding disability so I am going to pass the buck and tag someone in.

jennifer_m‍ , do you have any information regarding how qualifying for disability works? I read your response to Angry Dad which was extremely insightful and was hoping you may be able to help here.

Aly

Posted by jennifer_m on Jan 31, 2019 9:17 pm