+ Reply
Waiting for breast biopsy

Hi there,

This is my first time here and posting - sad to be here, but glad this resource exists.

I have been on a 6-month screening program for about 1.5 years. I'm 43 and have no family history of breast cancer. My doctor found a lump last spring. It was deemed benign and I was told to keep coming back for regular screening. I'm in London, Ontario.

Out of nowhere or so it seemed, I was referred for MRI in December due to “extremely dense” breast tissue even though I had several before with no problem. The MRI revealed another lump (different location) and I had an ultrasound last Monday. The ultrasound took a REALLY long time and unlike my past visits, I was sent home from the ultrasound with a date for a biopsy in a month. My family doctor called on Friday with the ultrasound report and the lump is “highly suspicious" for breast cancer. He didn't specify a letter for the BIRADS scale - just that it was a 4 and “highly suspicious”. I didn't know to ask more. He also said it was behind the nipple and really hard to reach. He assured me that I would have a biopsy the day of my visit, but did mention they would start with an ultrasound-guided one and hopefully it was successful. Again, I didn't think to ask what would happen if they couldn't reach it.

It seems like most people on here note that they moved quite quickly from potential detection to testing, so I wonder if an ultrasound 6 weeks after the MRI and a biopsy in a month is a good sign. It might also just be a sign of an overburdened health system!

I also don't know if I should bother asking for the report myself. I looked online with the hospital and it says that I need to send a letter and pay $30. I suppose I could also ask the doctor. He only called with the results so I didn't go in and see him. I don't want to assume 4C, but it seems most consistent with his description of “highly suspicious”. I don't know if I would even be able to know what it says anyway.