Working through immunotherapy

Working through immunotherapy

Posted by JeannieBW on Sep 2, 2018 4:26 pm

Hi

I was wondering if anyone on immunotherapy has continued to work through treatment? I have been on Prembrolizumab for approx 10 mths now and still have min 15 more mths, and I'm still working full time, but I am starting to feel like I'm exhausted all the time and even though I was told, you don't get chemo brain on my meds, there are days I can't remember simple words, it maybe the drug or maybe work stress I don't know.  I feel if I stop working I have lost one battle against this crappy disease, or am I just stubborn? I'm also finding that I have been very up front with my bosses that I can't commit to anything I can't give my 120% to but because I don't look sick, and I function they continue to give me more and more, because we started a new project.  The interesting thing is I work in health care, long term care homes and my direct supervisor is an RN, and for the most part she has been amazing, but I found out the other day, that I am scheduled to become a superuser for a new program we are implementing.  I don't think I can do it or commit to it, I just so d*** tired.

I am stage 4 melanoma and I just recently had axillary node disection (12 taken, 3 had tumours) and port implant, I took 2 wks off and then worked from home for one more week, then back at it.  Am I crazy to keep working or should I just keep on trying.

I am so lost on a decision, and I don't want to put my family in financial distress, as I am the steady pay cheque in our household, my husband and I just bought a business just before my diagnoses, it's going well but being a A type personality I have to have the secure knowledge that bills will be paid. 

Sorry for the long pity party.

Jeannie

Re: Working through immunotherapy

Posted by princessmaura on Sep 2, 2018 4:36 pm